First post and a whole-lotta-guac

Welcome!

Hello and welcome to Kaylen’s Kitchen!

This is an exciting day as it marks my very first Kaylen’s Kitchen blog post and the beginning of a new chapter for me. Food is a wonderful thing and I created this blog to share with you my passion for cooking. I do not have any professional cooking experience, nor have I attended culinary school. My mom taught me most of what I know about cooking, along with watching copious amounts of Food Network episodes (Ina, Giada, Bobby, Rachel, Anna, Ree, Emeril, Guy, Tyler…ahh the list goes on!) and a general curiosity and love for food! I consider myself a true amateur chef; I embrace what I’ve been taught, keep an open mind for what I have yet to learn and continue to create and try new things to add to my repertoire.

I do love a nice glass of wine and indulging in comfort foods! I also love to keep my eating clean with fresh, healthy and whole ingredients; the makings of a perfect plate! I will be incorporating a variety of recipes here, some of which will be healthy or comfort classics with a healthy twist, while others might be indulgent and splurge-worthy. Gotta offer some variety, right?! My hope is that this blog will inspire you to get in the kitchen and try something new! Oh and I’ll also be blogging about things beyond food! Fitness, Rhode Island, meal prep, road trips and more, the opportunities are endless and I’m so excited you’re here!

IMG_2264

food_network

I feel that this “first blog post” wouldn’t be whole unless I gave a shout out to my boyfriend, Frank, who is one of my greatest supporters and the love of my life. He will eat anything I make, literally (!) and has encouraged me to develop this blog and pursue what I love. I’m thankful for his support and hope he knows how much it means to me! I’m sure he also knows that he will continue to be my ultimate taste-tester, even more so now than he was before (ah the perks!). Fun facts about Frank; he’s a personal trainer, loves beer and Patriots football, can do handstands anywhere and he’s the funniest person I know!

IMG_3419

IMG_4494

I’d also like to thank my family. They are so special to me, and even though I’m in RI while they are back home in Canada, I think about them every day and cherish the time we do get to spend together. It’s rare when all five of us can sit around the dinner table and enjoy a home cooked meal, but when we do the food is delicious, the wine is plenty and the laughs are contagious!

DSC_0260

And of course a shout out to my Rhode Island family! Frank’s parents are the most caring and fun-loving people you will ever meet. I feel so blessed that they have welcomed me into their RI home and couldn’t imagine my life without them!

IMG_4606

Last but certainly not least, my friends from around the world! Thanks for trying out my food and encouraging me to start this blog, too! Sometimes it takes more than just a thought and the encouragement and love I’ve received from you all makes me feel like I can really do this thaaaaaang!

So, without further ado, let’s get to it! First up…

The Guacamole

Most of my friends and family know about my guacamole recipe.  It seemed only fitting that it be the first recipe I introduce to my blog! I’ve been whipping up this culinary masterpiece since I could walk (Alright, that’s not true, but it feels like forever, and I mean that in a good way!). Ok ok, maybe it’s not a masterpiece either, but it’s always a hit whether I bring it to a family party, ladies night, or make it as a simple treat on a Friday night. Not only is it delicious, but it’s made with healthy, nutritious ingredients and takes no time at all to put together. The other great thing about guacamole–you can use as much or as little of each ingredient that you’d like; cater to your taste buds!

Alright, let’s start with the ingredients:

3 large, ripe avocados (I’ll use 5 if it’s a large crowd)

1 large tomato, diced

1/4 c. red onion, diced

1/4 c. cilantro, rinsed and chopped fine (I LOVE cilantro and always use more)

1 garlic clove, minced

The juice of 1 lime

Salt & pepper to taste

Secret ingredient: Frank’s Red Hot Sauce (I use quite a few dashes, but you’ll need at least 3 or 4 to taste it–omit if you don’t like hot sauce)

Directions:

1. Slice open the avocado, remove the pit, and spoon out the avocado into a large bowl

photo 12. Slice up the tomatoes, red onion, cilantro, and garlic, and add all ingredients to the bowl

guac step 2.jpg

3. Now this part is up to you–using clean hands, a potato masher, a fork, or two knives, mash up all of the ingredients to desired consistency. I like my guacamole on the chunky side, but if you like it smooth, feel free to mash away.

4. With the palm of your hand, roll the lime on your counter top to get the juices flowing, cut it in half and juice both halves directly into the mix.

photo 3

5. Add salt and pepper to taste along with the hot sauce.

photo 4

6. Mix gently and voila! Be sure to try it first (using a professional taste tester helps, too) and add additional S&P or hot sauce if needed.

7. Pour the guacamole into a smaller bowl and if you’re feeling decorative, add a sprig of cilantro to the top before serving.

guac

**If you’re not going to serve it immediately, keep it in the large bowl and line saran wrap directly on top of the guacamole (it should be touching the guac) and place it in the fridge. I don’t recommend making this too far in advance, but if you have no choice, you should also splash some extra lime juice on top before applying the saran wrap.

**Serve with any kind of corn chip you would like! Some of my personal favorites include: Tostitos Multigrain Scoops or Lime, and any variety from Food Should Taste Good or the R.W. Garcia Mixit Bag, and yes, as you can see, I have tried many varieties of corn chips! For a healthier option, you can serve with sliced vegetables, rice crackers or even on top of your scrambled eggs!

guac chip 2

Enjoy !

6 thoughts on “First post and a whole-lotta-guac

  1. i love this post, from the shout outs to the recipe! my bf is my test subject for everything i make too, him or my brother lol. I always tell myself i’ll try my hand at guacamole but never get around to it. Yours looks so yum! will be using your recipe! thanks!

    • Thank you Phanie! So glad you stopped by! Haha, our boyfriend’s have the best jobs in the world 🙂 Hope you try out the guac and let me know how it turns out!!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Recap & Fish Tacos | Kaylen's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Healthy Snacks | Kaylen's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

