A day in the life {EATS}

As you know, I have a strong love for food. This means that I love every meal of the day…breakfast, lunch, dinner, even snack time! I honestly can’t decide which meal is my favorite…can you? Perhaps it’s a tie between breakfast and dinner…but I love my fresh salads in the middle of the day! I guess the debate continues…

While being conscious about what I eat and ensuring that I’m providing myself with healthy, nutritious, delicious and quality food, I also try and focus on quantity (portion control!). Maintaining a healthy balance between all of these things can be difficult but it is something I try to focus on throughout the week and meal prep really does help.

I thought it would be fun to give you a rundown of my daily eats to show you what a typical day looks like during the work/school week. This is a roundup of yesterday’s meals:

Breakfast

Two pieces of Food For Life Ezekiel toast (Low sodium sprouted whole grain): The first with mashed avocado and two eggs over easy (plus hot sauce) and the second with 2 tbsps of Nuts ‘n More almond butter (this stuff is AMAZING and you should probably order some online once you’re done reading this post!) topped with strawberry slices and a drizzle of agave.

ezekiel breakfast

One  cup of coffee in my favorite maple leaf mug with a dash of almond milk.

coffee

Snack

Homemade, no-bake granola bar (recipe coming soon).

granola bar

Lunch

A spring mix salad with the following (first four ingredients were prepped on the weekend): Sliced cucumbers, red and yellow peppers, cherry tomatoes, grilled balsamic chicken, sliced almonds, dried cranberries, and goat cheese. I dressed my salad with a balsamic vinaigrette consisting of the following: 1 tbsp of olive oil, splash of balsamic, salt and pepper to taste.

salad

On the side, sliced cucumber and baby carrots.

carrots cucumber

Snack

Sliced apple sprinkled with cinnamon.

cinnamon apples

Dinner

A piece of baked swordfish (We love swordfish and I hadn’t actually tried it until I moved to RI) seasoned with dijon mustard, fresh basil and lemon, with a side of garlic roasted broccoli and mushrooms and a kale and quinoa salad with dijon vinaigrette.

swordfish

quinoa and kale

Dessert

I don’t normally have dessert and I typically try not to eat anything after dinner or after 8pm during the work/school week. If I do feel hungry, I’ll have a glass of ice water with lemon or a cup of decaf tea. Last night however, I had a bit of a sweet tooth, so 2 spoonfuls of  chia seed pudding hit the spot (No photo since I want to experiment with different flavors and hope to provide a recipe soon!)

Random purchase:

I also stopped by Target yesterday morning to pick up a few essentials. Headed over to the candle section and found this wonderful scent from Philosophie by pure natural  (I can’t find this particular scent online, Lotus and Lemon Peel, but the link takes you to the brand on Target’s website). I thought some of you might be interested in a new candle that’s also CHEAP ($6.99, woohoo!) compared to other brands; though I do love a good Yankee Candle, it’s hard to keep up with their prices!

lotus and lemon

What do you typically eat during the work/school day?

Do you have any candle recommendations?

2 thoughts on “A day in the life {EATS}

  1. Week days are hard for me. I don’t ever seem to have enough time in the morning to prepare. For breakfast I usually have an english muffin with pb j on it. Decaf coffee for a snack. Lunch is always a pain. I vary between trying to be super healthy and do salads or I get sick of chopping veggies and just buy super unhealthy lunch meat and make sandwiches. Greek vanilla yogurt for afternoon snack and whatever Liv cooks for dinner. I love the idea of salads for lunch every day but I haven’t found a good way to chop ahead of time. The veggies seem to get dried up and gross by mid week.

    • Hi Kerri, thanks for the comment! One of my go-to breakfasts is oatmeal. I love homemade oatmeal but if I’m in a time crunch, the instant oatmeals can be quite healthy. Have you tried Quaker Oats Instant Oatmeal or even Stop and Shop brand (cheaper)? They have a lot of good healthier options as long as you stick to sugar free (we tend to buy the no-sugar, but there are less sugar options too if you do like a bit of sweetness–or add your own sweetener such as agave or honey). Turn on the kettle, add water to the oatmeal and top with blueberries or even just a dash of almond milk and cinnamon! Also, adding ground flax seed or chia seeds give extra staying power to your oatmeal; they’ll help keep you fuller longer (I’m going to post about this!). Quick and simple. As for lunch, as long as you store your vegetables in an air tight container and keep them in the crisper, we never seem to have issues with them staying fresh until Thursday. Do you keep them in the crisper? What veggies are you using? Grape tomatoes are a good option because you just have to rinse them (no chopping required), and if the cucumbers are going bad, you could remove the seeds when you prep them on Sunday’s, that might help too. And last but not least, lunch meat can be healthy if you pick the right kind! Lean, low sodium turkey breast is a great option or low sodium chicken breast. Using whole grain bread really cuts calories compared to white bread or even wraps (lots of sugar), and if you use mayo (throw it away!!), switch it out and use mustard instead. In terms of preparation, I always make sure I do everything before I go to bed. Salads are ready in their containers, snacks are in their ziplocs or sitting on the counter and ready to go, and the coffee is in the coffee maker ready to press go! Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

