Power Bowls inspired by Panera Bread

Ever since I saw the new Power Menu from Panera Bread, I have been mixing up my own nutrient-packed bowls with an added punch. These are so nutritious and simple to put together, especially if you prep the ingredients before the work week begins or if you’re trying to use up whatever’s in the fridge at the end of the week.

A power bowl can be made in four easy steps!

1.  Start with a base: Quinoa, spinach or whole-grain brown rice are some of my favorite options. Choose something that can stand up to the bold flavors coming its way.

2. Pick a protein: Chicken, canned tuna, two over-easy eggs, garbanzo beans, black beans or even a piece of fish left over from dinner the night before. You can combine, too!

3. Pick your toppings: This is your chance to be creative and resourceful! Your toppings will depend on whether you’d like a cold or hot power bowl. For a cold version, I like to add a variety of fresh veggies such as sliced carrots, tomatoes, peppers, avocado and beets. If you need something to warm you up, I like to saute mushrooms, red onion, zucchini or asparagus, and spinach in a little bit of coconut oil and garlic. Feel free to incorporate any and all toppings that you have available! Feta or goat cheese, walnuts and dried fruits are also tasty additions.

4. Choose your sauce: You can leave it plain or add a sauce to bring all of the ingredients together. I like to use any flavor of hummus, balsamic vinaigrette, oil and lemon, or simply a few dashes of hot sauce (Sriracha or Frank’s Red Hot are my go-to’s). If I’m making a hot power bowl, at times I’ll add soy sauce or hoisin to the stir-fry for extra flavor, yum!

IMG_3977

Couscous topped with carrots, onion, avocado, goat cheese and two eggs over easy

IMG_4791

Preparing veggies to be sauteed on top of quinoa–I used the avocado as a garnish

I hope you try this lunch/dinner plate that really does pack a powerful punch! Comment below to let me know what kind of combination you choose!

5 thoughts on “Power Bowls inspired by Panera Bread

Leave a Reply

