Jamestown here we come!

Ahhh Monday, you never fail to show up when I’m not ready to see you! Today was a long day of writing, laundry, more writing, and more laundry. I can finally call it success now that I’ve clicked SUBMIT on my final research paper of the semester! Just a few more things to go and my semester is complete. By Friday, I’ll be a very happy camper 🙂

feels good

So today marks day one of my Jamestown Half Marathon training! My best friend Courtney and I have officially signed up for the half on July 12th! We ran it last year and let me tell you, the hills were brutal and it literally felt like the race would never end. Why would I put myself through this again? Because last time I didn’t feel fully prepared for the hills nor the race in general, and though it felt amazing to finish, I did feel like I sorta “half-assed” (excuse my french) my preparation for the race. Basically both Courtney and I plan to conquer Jamestown like nobody’s business!

A little background info on Court since she’s officially been introduced to the blog world! We’ve known each other since 2007-ish. We both played soccer for URI and quickly became the best of friends. At one point we played center defense together and at times people got us confused for one another?! One time my mom was watching Courtney the entire first half of the game before realizing that she in fact, was not her daughter! Good one, mom! It’s weird though… as you know I am Japanese, and from the picture below, she clearly is not. The mystery will forever be a mystery!

Court and I are some of the few who stayed in Rhode Island after graduation, which lucky for us, we have had some great times following our post-graduation careers. We’ve shared a ton of amazing memories and on top of everything, she is actually engaged, too! Since the end of last year, so we get to talk about all our wedding details together. The timing was perfect and I’m so excited to share this special time in our lives together!

court and i

action shot five

SO, it’s a new year and a new summer, I’ll be training with my best friend and I have some exciting plans for the upcoming summer months…all-in-all, there’s lots to look forward to! I am motivated as ever to train hard and play hard. This will also be a great opportunity to stay on track while I balance a busy schedule that will consist of full time work starting mid-May, lots of weekend adventures and road trips, and wedding planning (ahh!). Having a half-marathon training schedule will keep me accountable and on track, the making’s of a perfect fun and healthy summer!

Who’s with me?!

Today I have a delicious and healthy tuna salad recipe along with the training program that Courtney created for the half marathon.

We’ll start with the tuna salad because I’m still excited about the lunch I enjoyed this afternoon! I love making different healthy variations of tuna salad whether it’s balsamic vinegar based with italian seasonings or hoisin based with japanese flavors. Today though, it’s all about avocados! Without using calorie filled mayonnaise, I use avocado and add a simple and light red wine vinaigrette for that additional flavor and tang.

All Green Tuna Salad (serves 2)

Ingredients

1/2 of an avocado, mashed

2 cans of tuna, drained

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. red wine vinegar

1 tbsp. spicy brown mustard

2 tbsp. curly parsley, finely chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Mash the avocado with the tuna

2. Mix the olive oil, red wine vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper in a bowl until well combined

3. Add the vinaigrette to the tuna and avocado mixture

4. Add parsley and more salt and pepper to taste

5. Serve over a bed of lettuce or spinach with all the green veggies you can think of! I used spinach, cucumbers, grilled zucchini from last night and some grilled onions, too! Feel free to experiment with all the greens!

green tuna salad

Half Marathon Training

With Courtney’s permission, she was more than happy to share this training program with you. I’m really looking forward to this plan and if you’re feeling like signing up for a half this summer, this 10 week training program might just be what you’re looking for! She integrated lots of hill intervals and cross training which will help us prepare for the long journey of Jamestown hills ahead.

Screen shot 2014-05-05 at 6.07.20 PM

Monday’s: Easy run

Tuesday’s: Stretch and cross train

Wednesday’s: A mix of Warmup/Interval Runs/Cool down & hill workouts with Warmup/90 Second Uphill Intervals at 90%, jog downhill (complete for 30 minutes)/Cool down

Thursday’s: 3 miles at race pace

Friday’s: Stretch and cross train

Saturday’s: The long run

Sunday’s: Rest

And that’s that! I ran a nice and easy 3-miler early this morning and it felt great to start the week off on the right foot!

A little running motivation for ya to finish this post off on a positive note!

running running quote

Have a great Monday evening!

Question of the day:

Do you have a half marathon coming up this summer?

One thought on “Jamestown here we come!

  1. Pingback: Hosting Girls’ Night {Apps, Drinks & Girl Talk} | Kaylen's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

