Day in the Life #2 {Yesterday’s Eats+Workout}

Today is a great day. For two reasons: 1) I proctor my last exam of the semester and 2) I hand in all of my final assignments. I guess we could bundle them into one reason as they’re both school related, but honestly, it’s the most satisfying feeling in the world! My third semester is coming to a close which leaves only one more left next Fall, I can’t believe it!

Well, I’m here to give you a rundown of my day in the life based on yesterday’s eats and half marathon training day 3! Wednesday, May 6th, 2014 to be exact. I spent the majority of my day grading, writing and of course, perusing through pinterest for wedding inspiration 😉

Breakfast

2 glasses of ice water

h20

Coffee with almond milk

coffee2

Scrambled eggs (For Frank and I: 4 eggs, 2 egg whites)

1/4 of an avocado, sliced and sprinkled with pepper

1/2 of a tomato, sliced and sprinkled with salt and pepper

scarmbled

Snack

An orange (going through a serious orange phase right now–they’re so good!)

orange slices

Lunch

2 glasses of water

Salad, of course! In the mix: lettuce, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, yellow pepper, chick peas, baked chicken pieces, light italian dressing

lunch salad

Snack

Unsweetened apple sauce with a handful of fresh blueberries

applesauce

Dinner

Baked swordfish with marinade: juice of 1/2 a lemon, 1 tsp. grain mustard, 2 tsp. grated garlic, 1/3 cup of olive oil, salt and pepper. Once the swordfish marinated in the fridge for an hour, I took it out, removed the excess garlic with a spoon and sprinkled the top of the fish with this AMAZING island fish spice which highlights notes of saffron, garlic, lemon and heat. Frank’s thoughtful client Casey picked this caribbean spice up for us when she vacationed in the British Virgin Islands a couple weeks ago! Thank you, Casey!

caribbee spice carribbee spice2

Roasted asparagus seasoned with garlic powder

Roasted cauliflower seasoned with curry powder

bakedswordfish

Spinach salad with tomatoes, cucumber, red peppers and balsamic vinaigrette

spinach salad

Half marathon training: Day 3

Though I don’t plan on giving you updates everyday, I think it’ll be fun to document my progress throughout my half marathon training program. It’s important to listen to your body and reflect on how each workout feels. I love that moment when the runs start to get more intense but you start to feel better and fitter–best of both worlds!

Yesterday was all about intervals. Since I forgot to wear my watch, I couldn’t exactly time each interval. Instead, I ran 1.5 miles out to a pond down the street which is about a 150-200 meter stretch of road; perfect for intervals. I completed my intervals by running at about 85% (a fast-paced run) down the pond and then I jogged back. After 6 intervals I headed back home and finished up with another 1.5 miles. All-in-all, I covered 5 miles and I felt pretty good! I hope to increase my interval speeds next week but for my first week incorporating a faster pace, I’m happy it!

Questions of the day:

What is your favorite meal? Breakfast, lunch or dinner?

Are you planning on running a road race this summer?

Leave a Reply

