Monday Night Mediterranean Swordfish

Hello and happy Tuesday! This morning I slept in well past my 6am alarm and rolled out of bed around 7:00am (woohoo)! The moment I woke up, I enjoyed a cup of coffee, a glass of water and then completed a leg and arm workout that is sure to leave me feeling sore for the next couple of days. I found a great let workout from Julie atย PBFingers and then competed the Arms, Shoulders & Back Bonus Circuit courtesy of Frank from a few weeks ago.

Workout

Following this warm-up (foam roll, 100 jumping jacks, dynamic warm-up, glutes, abs), I completed the following:

Squat-Overload-Leg-Workout Bonus circuit

After the above two circuits, I finished up with abs and more stretching. Feeling good!

Summer Reading

Yesterday was absolutely beautiful. I spent some time outside reading my new book: The Fault in our Stars. I’ve heard amazing things about this book and I wanted to read it before I saw the movie which is coming out in theaters soon! This summer I have a few books on my reading bucket list…it’s so nice to take a break from academic books and while a summer full of work and research is quickly approaching, it’ll be nice to fill my evenings with some light and relaxing reading.

fault in our stars

Okay okay, finally, the recipe!

Last night I made one of our staple weeknight meals: Swordfish.

As I took a look through our fridge, I noticed three vegetables that were calling my name: an orange bell pepper, button mushrooms and a 1/4 of a red onion. I walked over to the pantry and found a can of diced tomatoes and knew that a make shift mediterranean mix would pair perfectly with a meaty piece of swordfish.

Mediterranean Swordfish

Ingredients

2 pieces of swordfish (1/3 lb. each)

1 orange bell pepper, diced

8 button mushrooms, peeled and chopped

1/4 red onion, diced

1/2 can of diced tomatoes

1 tbsp. garlic

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. dried oregano leaves

1 tsp. dried basil

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. pepper

2 slices of lemon

1/4 cup of low-fat, shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions

For the tomato mixture:

1. In a medium saute pan, heat the olive oil and garlic until just starting to sizzle

2. Add peppers, onion, mushrooms and saute until the vegetables have started to soften (onions will start to look translucent)

3. Add the diced tomatoes and all of the spices

4. Let the mixture simmer until the juice of the diced tomatoes has dissolved and thickened into a nice and chunky sauce

For the swordfish:

1. Heat oven to 400 degrees

2. Placed swordfish on a foiled pan and salt and pepper both sides

3. Cook swordfish in the oven for about 20 minutes until cooked through

Plating:

1. Once the swordfish is cooked through and the tomato mixture has thickened, placed the swordfish on a plate and top with the tomato mixture

2. Divide the mozzarella and top on each piece of fish

3. Drizzle with lemon juice and enjoy!

*If you have kalamata olives and/or artichokes, they would be delicious additions to the tomato mixture and I will be sure to buy them next time I’m at the store!

*You could also use fresh oregano and basil instead of the dried spices

I served the fish with roasted zucchini and a salad made with romaine lettuce, tomato wedges and cucumber…the perfect Monday night meal!

med. swordfish

And since Frank and I both had a sweet tooth last night…

Dessert was a spoonfulย of Nutsnmore toffee peanut butter with a few (or a handful…) of dark chocolate chips. Craving satisfied!

pb and dark choc

Happy cooking and enjoy your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

