Daily Eats #3 {+ a recipe}

Good morning! A bright and early one for me as Frank was out the door by 5:20am and I couldn’t sleep! I try and take advantage of the days I don’t need my alarm–they’re a dime a dozen!

Here’s another rundown of my daily eats from yesterday:

Breakfast

The obsession continues. Scrambled eggs, with spinach this time around, and delicious wedges of tomatoes sprinkled with salt and pepper and half of a juicy orange. Yum!

Accompanying this meal was a hot mug of coffee (not pictured) with almond milk (they didn’t have unsweetened almond milk this week, so we bought light, and it’s just too sweet for my liking) and a big glass of water.

breakfast

Snack

A spoonful of toffee nutsnmore peanut butter…so good and the perfect protein kick after an intense interval workout. Bumped up our intervals from 6 to 10 this week…thanks Court (minor sarcasm, here)!

toffee

Lunch

Salad. Grilled chicken. Boom. Dressing: Red wine vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.

chicken salad

Snack

I had a meeting at URI at 1pm so my lunch was eaten fairly early.

As you can see from afar, they’re setting up the quad for graduation this weekend. I felt a little nostalgic walking by the stage knowing that just a few years ago, I was walking across! Well, next year will be my time again…can’t believe it!

uri

Once the meeting was over, I was thirsty and felt a bit of a hunger-kick so I headed to CVS and grabbed a bottle of H2O and a peanut butter and dark chocolate protein KIND bar. With plans that would keep me out of the house for a few more hours yesterday afternoon, this was the perfect snack to hold me over for quite a while. I love KIND bars and always find they’re a nice treat since we rarely buy them at the grocery store.

kind

 

By the time I got home, I was in a snacking mood, so I grabbed a crisp gala apple (my fave) and then actually went back to grab a handful of mixed nuts (not pictured). I’m not usually this “snacky” during the day, but since I ran a lot that morning, I guess I was extra hungry!

gala

Dinner

Last night’s dinner was all about ground turkey. I love playing around with different ground turkey recipes since it’s such a versatile meat; whether molded into meat balls or thrown into a big pot of vegetables for a makeshift chili, it’s so good and a very lean and clean protein!

I ended up making asian style ground turkey patties mixed with some vegetables and leftover quinoa. On the side, steamed broccoli with sesame seeds and garlic powder, half of a baked sweet potato and a salad on the side, too.

plate

Here’s the recipe for the turkey patties!

Asian Turkey Patties with Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

turkey patties

Ingredients

Turkey Patties

1.5 lbs. lean ground turkey

8 peeled and finely chopped button mushrooms

3/4 cup of finely chopped spinach

1/3 cup of cooked quinoa

1/2 tbsp. sesame oil

1 tbsp. minced garlic

1 tbsp. minced ginger

1 tbsp. soy sauce

1 egg

Teriyaki Sauce

1/4 cup of soy sauce

1/8 cup of water

1 tbsp. rice vinegar

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. minced ginger

1/8 cup of sugar

Directions

1. Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.

2. Mix the ground turkey, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and egg until well combined.

3. Add the quinoa, button mushrooms and spinach.

4. Form 6 to 7 patties about 4 inches x 4 inches, they will shrink.

5. Grease a baking pan and bake the patties for 10 minutes.

6. Flip and cook until they’re no longer pink in the middle (about 5 more minutes).

7. While the patties are baking, make the teriyaki sauce by combining all of the ingredients into a saucepan. Cook on medium-low until the sugar dissolves.

8. I served the sauce directly on top of the turkey patties but as you can see by the picture, it spread out all over the plate! When Frank got home, I suggested he use the sauce on the side which worked out much better.

Andddd, that’s a wrap for this week’s Daily Eats! I’m off to get some work done and then I’ll head out to run some errands as we’re heading to Martha’s Vineyard tomorrow, woohoo!

Have a wonderful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

