Beets & Oatmeal?

Hellooooo Friday! I’m so excited to ferry-off to Martha’s Vineyard this afternoon and enjoy a relaxing and fun wedding weekend. After a week of relaxation and organization, I’ll also be ready to start up my summertime work on Monday, lots going on and I’m ready to conquer it all!

This morning started off with a 7-mile run since Martha’s Vineyard is supposed to be rainy all morning tomorrow; gotta make sure I’m putting in the miles! Following my run and breakfast, I headed out to get my nails done! Yes, I’ve finally decided to get a professional manicure and I swear the ring sparkles even more! I also got a pedicure, it felt nice to pamper myself 🙂

So, today I’m highlighting two very random and completely un-related recipes. I don’t know why, so just roll with me here!

First up, roasted beets, which I just tried making for the first time! I’m in love…though peeling those bad boys was a bit of a hassle and my hands were a dark reddish-purple color for the rest of the evening.

The second is a how-to on “How to dress-up your morning instant oatmeal” because I feel as though oatmeal is an art, and personally believe (yes, I’m bragging) that Frank and I have mastered the artistry of homemade oats. With that said, instant oatmeal can be a much quicker and efficient breakfast option during an on-the-go morning and if you dress them up a bit, they taste just as good as if you were starting from scratch! More on that soon…

Roasted beets

After one of Frank’s clients suggested we try our hand at roasting beets, I was all for it! Growing up, my Baa-chan (grandmother in japanese) would pickle the most delicious beets. I admit, it took a while for me to actually try the very purple and very odd looking root vegetable, but once I did, there were no regrets! Here is how I prepared them last night:

Ingredients

3 beets, remove the stems and peel; they are very juicy and the color will stain so be careful!

1 tbsp. olive oil

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Cut the beets into small triangular pieces and place them on a non-stick pan. Drizzle with olive oil and seasonings; mix until well coated. Place in the oven and cook for 15 minutes, flip and cook for another 10-15 until the beets are cooked through and start to brown; delicious!

I served them up with a shrimp and broccoli stir-fry over quinoa. Quite the combination, but it all came together deliciously!

beets shrimp and beets

How to dress-up instant oatmeal

Okay, so here’s the deal. We all know that making homemade oatmeal can be a simple task (grab the pan, add the oats, add the water, boil, stir and voila) and if/when I have the time, I will ALWAYS opt for the homemade kind made with whole wheat oats. BUT, it doesssss take a lot more work than tearing open a pack of instant oatmeal and adding boiling water. For those who give themselves a short time frame to get up, shower, and eat breakfast, this is the option for you.  So…in order to ensure that you’re receiving enough nutrients in the morning and also ensure that the oats will really ‘stick to your ribs’ like my dad always said, you can make some healthy additions to this otherwise boring, instant pack of oatmeal.

There are a few variations to this art form, but today I’m going to stick to the basics.

First, when you purchase your instant oatmeal, steer clear from the regular, sugar-loaded kinds. There are plenty of healthier options including: Low Sugar Instant Oatmeal, High Fiber Instant Oatmeal, and Weight Control Instant Oatmeal…they even have Sugar Free, which is what we bought. Choose any flavor you like, but do choose wisely – cinnamon raisin is the absolute worst flavor you could buy.

instant oatmeal

Since we don’t use a microwave, we boil water in the kettle and add 1/3 cup to the oatmeal. Stir until well combined.

Then the fun part! Adding delicious fix-ins:

  • 1 tbsp. shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp Teddy’s organic peanut butter (or any nut butter you’d like!)
  • 1 tsp. honey
  • Splash of almond milk
  • Dash of cinnamon

oatmeal ingredients

Now doesn’t that sound like a great way to start your day? This oatmeal recipe can hold me over until lunch time if need be and it really does stick to my ribs! For the bigger man, ahem Frank, you can go ahead and use two oatmeal packets or 1.5 (but that’s annoying because then there’s 1/2 of an oatmeal packet lying around), but again, as I’ve mentioned before, cater to your taste buds and your personal needs!

This is one of my go-to combo’s but there are many variations to choose from! Sometimes we’ll swap out the chia seeds and use ground flax seed instead and I love adding fresh fruit (bananas, berries, the list goes on!).

Alright, have a wonderful weekend and I’ll catch up with you next week!

2 thoughts on “Beets & Oatmeal?

  1. Pingback: Breakfast: Salty vs. Sweet | Kaylen's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

