Product Review: Cedar Bay Grilling

While I love buying fresh atlantic salmon during my weekend grocery trip, it’s not always easy to find a good piece, or if you’re like me and shopped on Monday this week, your options were very limited. Enter: prepared cedar plank salmon. Now I’m sure you’re wondering how I could do such a thing, and it’s true, I was extremely skeptical at first, too. Last summer Frank and I prepared a delicious, fresh and tasty cedar plank salmon that he grilled up to perfection and tasted divine. We haven’t had it since and when I saw this prepared orange and ginger cedar plank salmon ready to bake/grill, I figured it was worth a shot for a quick weeknight meal.

IMG_6238

After checking out my options, I realized that Cedar Bay Grilling is actually a Canadian company, SCORE!  I followed up with some additional research and found that they’re based in Nova Scotia on Canada’s east coast, a great spot for particularly fresh and delicious seafood. Last time I was there (and the only time), I had lobster every, single, night. Leave it to this girl to pick the most expensive thing on the menu. Thanks, mom and dad!

“a locally operated company producing frozen cedar-planked salmon, providing a fun dining experience at home with a variety of seasonings to choose from, including Applewood, Orange & Ginger, Sugar & Spice, and Maple with Smoked Pepper.”

So they’re locally operated and yes it’s frozen, but I swear to you, this fish didn’t taste frozen. On top of that, the company has received numerous amounts of awards for their products which gave me that much more reason to make the purchase. Feeling good about my decision, I headed home with the Applewood with Orange & Ginger flavor, excited to try something new!

Tuesday night came around and it was time. To prepare, I took the salmon out of the freezer on Monday night and let it sit over night in the sink. The next morning, I kept it in the fridge during the day and when I came home from work, I removed it to bring it to room temperature before cooking.

All I had to do was heat the oven t0 425 degrees and cut the cedar plank and salmon out of the bag. Place the cedar plank directly on the middle rack of the oven and cook for about 15-18 minutes.

So simple and easily dressed up with your favorite and healthy sides.

We enjoyed our salmon with a snow pea and mushroom stir-fry and a big arugula salad with tomatoes, red onion, avocado and ginger dressing.

IMG_6243

One thing Frank and I both noted was the intensity of the seasonings. You could really taste the orange and the ginger, and it was SPICY! So as long as you love spice, you will enjoy this salmon. I can’t give the product a 10/10 but I will give it an 8/10. I’m definitely interested in trying another flavor including their Lightly Seasoned and Lemon Dill. So if you’re in the store and come across a Cedar Bay Grilling product, try it out and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

