Breakfast: Salty vs. Sweet

Good morning and happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend-we sure did! Camping was such a great time and the Dave Matthews Band concert was nothing short of fantastic. Though the bugs bit and torrential rain hit us the moment we got there, we weren’t phased and continued to enjoy a fun and adventurous weekend in Saratoga Springs. Next year we hope to do it again, and we might even set aside some more time to check out the downtown area. Until next time!

Now, it’s back to reality and the daily work grind!

Breakfast

When I was growing up, breakfast was a distant thought; a silly concept; an overall non-existant part of my morning routine. Can you tell I wasn’t a fan? If it did happen to cross my mind, I would literally do anything to avoid it. This included: running out the door before my mom could ask if I ate anything that morning, or waking up with 10 minutes to spare for a shower and to brush my teeth; no time for breakfast because a shower and toothbrushing totally took priority.

Well, with all of that said, as I got older and my athletic commitments started to get busier and busier, I began to learn the importance of eating right to fuel my body. Though I still didn’t really understand what “healthy eating” was until I graduated from college, I did know the importance of having three meals a day. So naturally, breakfast was the number one thing that I needed to change and add to my routine. I admit, it took a while to get used to, but I can now say that I really look forward to it every morning! Throughout college I would have a piece of toast with peanut butter and honey because it was quick and easy. Now that I’m more aware of what I eat and now that Frank and I both work/go to school full-time, we love mixing it up with all kinds of healthy treats to kick start our day.

Some of my favorite go-to breakfasts range from salty to sweet throughout the week. At times I’ll crave peanut butter galore (because you can never have too much) while other days I’ll prefer eggs and hot sauce. I’ve developed this list as an easy breakfast planner to start your week off on the right foot! I have also found that if you pick up groceries that cater to both of your taste bud cravings, it’ll be much easier to give yourself some choice during your busy morning. The worst thing you can do is plan for 5 days straight of oatmeal to realize that by the time you get to the third day, you want nothing to do with that oatmeal anymore! Side note: Never, ever ruin your relationship with oatmeal, it is a gift, and we must cherish it. Alright, back to my point. Getting tired of your morning breakfast could also lead to a number of negative outcomes; you might instead decide to go to the local Dunkin’ Donuts and buy a salty, carb-loaded bagel with cream cheese or you might grab a sugary breakfast bar because it’s “all you had that wasn’t oatmeal.” We really want to avoid these types of situations and I’m here to help!

Salty

Avocado & Egg Toast: Simply mash up an avocado, add lemon, salt, pepper, garlic powder and voila! Smooth it onto a piece of toast, top with an egg cooked any way you like, and that’s a filling and nutritious start to your day.

Over-easy Eggs on Toast (left photo)

IMG_5271

Smoked Salmon: This is always a treat and especially great if you workout in the morning. Smoked salmon packed with protein, on top of a toasted whole wheat english muffin, a spread of whipped cream cheese (whipped has less fat and calories–always aim for purchasing your cream cheese this way if you can), sliced cucumber (or tomato) and if you have it, some chopped chives or capers! This is a filling breakfast treat.

IMG_5519

Scrambled Eggs: My go-to scrambled eggs include sauteed spinach and mushroom. Yum!

breakfast

Eggs & Tomatoes: The most delicious combination. Fresh tomato slices with an egg on top. Enjoy this on a piece of ezekiel toast or a whole wheat english muffin.

IMG_5173

Omelets

Hard-Boiled Eggs over toast: I love this because it’s so easy to prep your hardboiled eggs on Sunday’s. Make a big batch and they’re ready to go! Toast a piece of ezekiel toast and add sliced eggs on top with some salt and pepper. Hot sauce or avocado work as yummy add-ons!

Sweet

Fresh Fruit: Always, always try and enjoy some fresh fruit with your morning meal!

IMG_5861

Homemade Oatmeal: 1/3 cup of oats to 2/3 cup of water; bring to a boil and stir constantly (this will only take a couple minutes). Remove from heat and add your favorite fix-ins! Topping ideas: Unsweetened shredded coconut, ground flax seeds, chia seeds, 2 tbsp. nut butter, 1 tbsp. jam, 1/2 tbsp. honey, banana slices, blueberries, cinnamon….the list goes on!

IMG_4794

Instant OatmealCheck out the link for a how-to on dressing up your instant oatmeal!

Smoothies/Smoothie Bowls: We like to use 1/2 cup of frozen fruit, 3/4 cup of almond milk (unsweetened), 1tbsp. ground flax OR chia seeds, 2 tbsp. nut butter and a scoop of protein powder.

IMG_5830

Apple Sauce & Berries

applesauce

PB & J Toast

IMG_5646

PB & Banana w/ chia seeds Toast

IMG_5271

Nut Butter & Strawberry Toast

Greek yogurt with granola, almonds and fresh fruit

As you can see, there are plenty of breakfast options to shake up your morning routine. Giving yourself a couple of options without breaking the bank is definitely do-able, too! For instance, the great thing about oatmeal is that it lasts. Whether you buy the instant package or a container of whole wheat oats; you can still enjoy your morning sweet tooth while also switching it up and making a batch of scrambled eggs.
Have a great Monday!
One thought on “Breakfast: Salty vs. Sweet

  1. Pingback: Healthy Snacks | Kaylen's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

