Japanese Home Cooking

Good morning and happy Monday! I’m back from a wonderful and quick weekend home to Canada. I hadn’t been home since the holidays, so this was a well overdue and much needed weekend full of family, friends and great times.

It’s always so refreshing to catch up with those who I don’t get to see often enough, and it’s always so hard to leave! With that said, I’ll be returning in just a few short weeks for a family wedding, so I’m feeling extra excited and lucky to make the trip again soon.

Though I had plans to take photos of the food I ate throughout the weekend, I honestly forgot the majority of the time as I was wrapped up in the moment. I think that’s a very good thing and it was nice to take a break from my photo blogging duties. I did manage to snap a few and wanted to show you two of the delicious meals my mom prepared for us over the course of the weekend.

The first, Zaru Soba! This is a cold Japanese dinner that’s great during the summer time months. It’s so simple to make as you buy the sauce, add water and let it sit in the fridge until you’re ready to dig in! Pair it with some cooked buckwheat noodles and some delicious toppings and you’re all set!

Here we have crab sticks, nori (seaweed), and green onions. So refreshing and a special Japanese treat!

photo 1

On Friday night, Frank requested his all time favorite of my mom’s recipes; Japanese Ribs! They’re sticky, tender, and fall-off-the-bone delicious. My mom learned this recipe from her mom, and this weekend I spent some time observing, listening, snapping photos and taking notes! This will definitely be a recipe I need to start making on my own, especially if it’s one of Frank’s favorites (though I’m just fine with having it every time we come home…there’s nothing like mama’s cooking!).

My mom served her ribs with Chinese broccoli sauteed in garlic and Japanese rice. So yummy.

food4 food6 food9 food13 food15

There really is no place like home. Great food, lots of wine and plenty to talk about. See ya in a few Canada, we’ll be back soon!!

5 thoughts on “Japanese Home Cooking

  1. Oh my god, these ribs!!! I am visiting Japan for the first time next November and I cannot wait to try all the delicious food. Japanese is my favorite Asian food!!!!

Leave a Reply

