Fin Izakaya {Restaurant Review: Oakville, ON, CANADA}

As you know, we just spent a wonderful weekend in my hometown just outside of Toronto. We also managed to spend an amazing night out on Saturday with my friends from elementary/middle/high school at my brother’s apartment in the city. It was such a fun night filled with lots of laughs, champagne, cupcakes and country singing & dancing; the perfect end to a very quick and very fun trip.

engagement friends pop champagne

I’m here for another round of restaurant reviews from this past weekend! On today’s list: a Japanese Izaaya restaurant in downtown Oakville.

On Friday afternoon, my parents, Frank and I headed downtown Oakville for a stroll through the town’s sidewalk sale. Lots of vendors were outside on the streets selling clothes and products for great prices. I did manage to stop by Roots and bought a $14.99 tank top–if you know Roots, than you know that’s a steal!

roots

After an hour or so we were pretty hungry and knew we’d be having a late home cooked meal. We decided to stop into Fin Izakaya, an authentic Japanese restaurant which recently opened up downtown. My family and I had been to an Izakaya restaurant before in Toronto with Frank’s parents, and we had a blast as they traditionally greet you the moment you walk in the door and when you leave. The experience you get at an Izakaya restaurant is quite unique and they’re known for being a drinking establishment that serves food to accompany your beverage of choice. We stopped by the bar for a refreshing cocktail and a few appetizers to share.

I ordered a Basil Honey Martini which was so delicious and quite tasty! Definitely two ingredients that belong together alongside some cointreau and vodka 🙂

food2

The moment we sat down, the bartender gave us these fried spaghetti noodles…yep, that’s right! FRIED noodles, which were so skinny and crunchy. I thought this was a little odd but they weren’t bad!

photo 4

We ordered the Fin’s Shrimp Rock:

photo 5

The Blowtorched Mackerel:

food1

And a Dragon Roll which I didn’t snap a picture of.

The food was extremely flavorful, very unique and just the right amount split between five people (My brother Mark stopped by after work). The restaurant itself is very small, dark with dim lighting, and uniquely decorated. We felt it was a great atmosphere and the service was extremely friendly and knowledgable. If you’re in the area, I suggest you check it out and I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Have a great Wednesday and stay cool wherever you are! Rhode Island has decided to be extremely cloudy, hot and muggy…not the best combination, especially as I think about my run later this afternoon. Take care!

5 thoughts on “Fin Izakaya {Restaurant Review: Oakville, ON, CANADA}

  1. When you’ll be around Toronto again, I highly recommend the restaurant Woodlot. If you haven’t been there, they are pretty popular because they cook almost everything in their wood-burning oven, and their home-made bread is the best, I swear 🙂
    I love Fin Izakaya also, japanese food is always the best option for family gathering 🙂

    Love your blog,
    Lana

    • Thanks for the tip! We’ll be heading to Toronto again in a couple weeks so I’ll have to check out Woodlot – sounds delicious and we’ve definitely never been! Thanks so much for stopping by, I appreciate the comments and feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

