Post-Run Protein Smoothie

Just as I expected, yesterday’s run was right in the middle of the hot and muggy late afternoon. To say that I thought I was going to pass out is an understatement and the truth is, it was the worst run I’ve had throughout my half-marathon training thus far. With that said, I’m glad I stuck to it and completed the run as I still fully believe that you NEVER regret a run and the same went for yesterday’s miles. Sometimes you gotta push through and a bit of will power along the way doesn’t hurt either!

Following my run, I laid on the floor for a while and chugged a ton of water before stretching out my tired legs. I couldn’t get myself to hop in the shower at this point, so instead, I decided it was time for a protein packed smoothie to bring life back to my body.

Smoothies are such a great source of nutrients; after a run, you’ve burned a lot of calories and you need to immediately re-hydrate and replenish. Additionally, the fact that they are ice cold really helps to cool down your body temperatures especially after running in the heat.

Though we have a few different smoothie variation go-to’s (which will be featured on the blog throughout these summer months!), this is the mix I made yesterday which really gave me the boost I needed after my long, painful, sweaty run (so attractive, eh?).

Chocolate Banana Protein Smoothie

Ingredients

4 ice cubes

1/2 large banana, cut into chunks

1 scoop of chocolate protein powder

1/2 cup of almond milk (They didn’t have unsweetened this week so I bought light almond milk)

Optional: 1 tbsp. chia seeds or ground flax or 1/4 cup of spinach leaves (I would have used spinach if we had it!)

photo 2

Directions

1. Combine ice cubes, banana, and protein powder.

2. Then add the almond milk.

3. Blend until smooth and enjoy!

photo 3

Leave a Reply

