HAPPY CANADA DAY!

Well, I think the title says it all. Today is Canada Day! July 1st, the day three colonies became one and Canada was born. Woohoo! To all my Canadian family and friends, hope you have a wonderful day off today, and that you’re somewhere in the sunshine with a cold beer in hand and a Canadian flag in the other. I’m there celebrating in spirit!

The photo below is from last year’s Boston marathon. My parents and I in Quincy Market showing our Canadian pride!

DSCN0520

For me, I’ll wait until my day off on Friday where we’ll be celebrating a certain American holiday…July 4th! Fireworks, food, drinks, pool, sun, good friends, great family and lots of outdoor games. Let’s cross our fingers and hope that it doesn’t rain! Even if it does though, there’s no stopping us!

I consider myself very fortunate that I get to partake in two amazing holiday’s for two great nations all within one week. I’ve lived here for quite a while now and I can honestly say that my American family has welcomed and embraced me with open arms. I’m very grateful and appreciate the U.S. just as much as my Canadian home.

Since this is a food blog after all, I figured I’d share some of the staple and popular foods from each country, because why not?! WARNING: These foods aren’t healthy!!!!! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, leading a healthy lifestyle is all about balance and it’s okay to indulge and enjoy every once in a while, too. If you deny yourself, you’re more likely to fall off track of your healthy eating habits. Enjoy in moderation!

Canada

canada day flag

Beavertails: Dough. Sugar. Cinnamon. YUM.

Bloody Caesars: I can’t tell you how much better a Bloody Caesar is than a Bloody Mary. If anything, I would have thought Rhode Island made this a signature drink by now along with it’s new official state appetizer – calamari! Did you know this happened recently?? For those who don’t know what it is, a Bloody Caesar is similar to a Bloody Mary but it’s made with Clamato juice, a clam and tomato juice combination. It really gives that extra flavor kick that’s unlike any other!

Poutine: Well I couldn’t not add this to the list. As we were home just a couple weeks ago, I admit, Frank and I indulged in a late night poutine snack which was nothing short of amazing (minus the awful feeling of a brick in our stomachs the next morning…). When in Rome, right?? Poutine basically consists of a bed of hot french fries with mozzarella cheese curds topped with hot gravy that melts the cheese. Nothing about this dish is healthy, but everything about it is delicious!

Beer: Canadian beer…Molson, Moosehead, Alexander Keith’s, Labbatt Blue, Carling…the list goes on, and while I’d choose a nice glass of wine over a cold beer any day, a Canadian beer shout out is a must!

Ketchup Chips: Ever tried these bad boys? I used to love them when I was little! I’ve had my fair share of chips but nothing as interesting or different as a ketchup chip. I’ve brought these down to the States for my American friends to try and let me tell ya, it did not go down so well. I couldn’t believe it! Every person I’ve given them to has hated them. Ah well, can’t win em all.

U.S.A.

usa-flag

I think we’ll roll with the Rhode Island theme since this state has become my home away from home and they have quite their share of unique eats…

ri1

Iggy’s: Iggy’s restaurant is a staple clam shack in this little state. Clam chowder, dough boys, quahogs (pronounced “KOH-hog”) and more. The majority of their menu is deep fried, but if you’re feeling decadent, their fresh lobster roll is a bit of a lighter option on their menu. It is made with mayo, but I find it much lighter than a fried piece of fish and it’s so yummy!

Del’s Lemonade: Ah, the greatest hangover cure in all the land. Yep, I said it. Del’s lemonade, fresh frozen lemonade with the actual lemon rinds throughout the mixture! It’s refreshing, sugary and delicious. They also offer a variety of lemonade flavors and my second favorite has to be the watermelon.

Saugy: The saugy is a classic Rhode Island dish. Similar to a hot dog, but it has a special texture and ‘snap’ when you bite into it. Though I usually enjoy mine like a regular hot dog, I’ve heard it’s a Rhode Islander “thing” to sprinkle onion salt on the saugy and enjoy it without any sauce!

Brickley’s: If you’re a local, you know that Brickley’s serves up some of the best ice cream in the state! They have such a variety of flavors and they also serve frozen yogurt! My favorite is the Black Raspberry Chip 🙂 They’re only open during the spring and summer months, and while most ice cream’s are made at large factories, Brickley’s makes all of theirs on-site in their Narragansett, RI location.

Well, that’s it for now folks! Have a great day and for those who are on vacation today/this week, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

