HAPPY 4TH OF JULY! Friday Favorites

Before we dive into my Friday Favorites from this week, I wanted to wish all of my American friends and family a Happy Independence Day! The 4th of July, just 3 days after our Canada Day celebration, is another day to celebrate, relax by the water (pool, lake, ocean; whatever you’ve got!) and enjoy some great times with the people you love. It’s a time to be proud of your country and take in all that is AMERICA for the day. So, that’s what we’ll be doing today and throughout the weekend! As I mentioned on Tuesday, I’m so lucky to be able to celebrate both. PLUS, now that my soon-to-be-husband is from this land, I’m definitely enjoying the perks of our dual holiday festivities.

IMG_2693

Colleen’s flag cake from last 4th of July!

By the way, Frank and I have not only embraced our Canadian and American pride, but also our Japanese and Irish backgrounds. He’s in FULL swing on the Japanese front (sushi, sake, chopsticks, our big Japanese family and more) and while I still need time getting used to the green and orange color pallets, I’m more than happy to show my Irish pride and enjoy some corned beef, cabbage and a cold beer with the coolest Irish family I know! So CHEERS to our Canadian, American, Irish and Japanese pride!

The picture below was my first ever stab at making Canadian Thanksgiving turkey dinner (with all the fix-ins!) – it was a success! As you can see, Frank’s embracing his Canadian side 🙂

IMG_1744

So, wherever you are today, I hope you enjoy a great 4th of July holiday! And if you’re in the Northeast and tracking Hurricane Arthur like we are, I hope you stay cool and dry!

Alright, onto this week’s roundup of Friday Favorites!

Favorite Article: Okay, okay, so this article might be contradictory to what we’re celebrating today, but this article is hilarious and there will always be positives and negatives to both sides. Obviously, this is shedding a light on the POSITIVES that Canada has to offer. It’s basically a list of reasons why Canada is so awesome. My personal favorite, “We have better money.” The worst thing about American bills: Thinking you have so much money, to realize that it’s just a bunch of $1 bills bundled up in your wallet.

Favorite Kitchen Trick: This blog post by Oh My Veggies is SO smart and a great trick for those of us who need just a small amount of fresh herbs but can only buy a HUGE bundle at the grocery store. Fresh herbs aren’t the cheapest either, so learning how to preserve them or use them in a creative way is right up my alley!

herbs

Favorite Holiday Recipes: Patriotic food recipes. They are ALL over Pintrest these days. I think it’s so cool to be able to incorporate theme colors and fresh flavors that represent a specific holiday. With this specific holiday being July 4th, there are a number of sites and recipes highlighting the American flag using food! So fun and very creative.

4th-July-Fruit-Salad patriotic strawberries

Favorite Memory: While the World Cup is in full swing, it really makes me miss and reminisce on my days as a soccer player. For so long, soccer was my life; a full-time job, an open door to so many people, places and opportunities. I can’t imagine what my life would have been without it and I never want to. I appreciate the memories and the important life lessons I learned; hard work, dedication, determination, strength, compassion, responsibility, perseverance…the list could go on and these are only a few, but they’re extremely important in life and still apply today. As I continue my journey, I’m thankful for the opportunities that soccer brought for me, and I know that I wouldn’t be the person I am today without it! Phew, how’s that for a memory?

no whistle..

Favorite Read: So I just started reading this book and it’s already quite intense. I didn’t really know what to expect but I’m enjoying it so far! I’m looking forward to some summer night’s lounging by the pool or cuddled up before bed, reading and getting lost in a new book!

IMG_7425

Favorite Laugh: I love all the wine!

IMG_7413

That about wraps up this week’s Friday Favorites! Have a happy and safe July 4th and long weekend – see ya next week!

2 thoughts on “HAPPY 4TH OF JULY! Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

