Friday Favorites

Good morning!! Happy Friday! Hope you’ve all had a great week whether you had a successful meeting at work, a beautiful day at the beach, or a week full of healthy choices and workouts. It’s the small steps that make a big difference, so way to go!

This weekend will be a productive one including studies, studies, and more studies (maybe even a movie if I’m lucky!) 🙂 It’s back to the grind now that the summer is starting to slow down and I need to focus on setting my goals and fulfilling my academic and career priorities first.

I’m back with a round-up of Friday Favorites which haven’t been around for the last few weeks!

Hope you enjoy!

Favorite Eat: BREAKFAST! I’m all about breakfast this week and actually took a photo of every breakfast I had from Monday through Friday! All breakfasts included a cup of coffee with unsweetened almond milk and a glass of ice water.

IMG_8461

Two eggs over-easy atop sliced tomatoes and a piece of multi-grain toast with peanut butter and strawberry jam

IMG_8468

Instant oatmeal with a big spoonful of natural peanut butter

IMG_8479

Mexican-Style eggs and beans: Check the recipe here

IMG_8491

Instant Oatmeal with unsweetened shredded coconut, chia seeds, and almond milk with a side of cherries

IMG_8499

 

Scrambled eggs and spinach topped with avocado and Frank’s Red Hot sauce

Favorite Read: I’m sure you’ve all heard about the Ice Bucket Challenge to spread awareness about ALS. The research I’m conducting through graduate school is all about engagement and awareness of a charitable cause; not monetary donation. There have been many supporters for the cause as well as many people who don’t understand what an ice bucket has to do with fighting this disease. Well, I’m a firm believer in spreading awareness; even if an ice bucket challenge video can reach one more person who was unaware of the disease, that means something to those who advocate for the cause as well as those who are personally affected by it. Viral videos have proven to help bring awareness and increase participation and if you would like to learn more about this challenge and where it all began, read this article

Favorite Indulgence: Wine and corn on the cob. Summer time is still in full swing and I just had my first corn on the cob the other night! It was delicious, and yes, I rolled my corn in butter and sprinkled it with salt. My dad always thought my brothers and I were crazy for adding butter and salt; he’s all about the natural flavors. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about that too, but corn on the cob reminds me of my childhood summers out on North Bay at Sunset Cove cottage and the way I ate it then is exactly how I want to enjoy it today 🙂 Plus the wine because its always my favorite thing! (And no, I wasn’t having all the corn and all the wine – Frank and his mom, Colleen were there, too!)

IMG_8487

Favorite Quote: After finishing up my 3rd half marathon last month and finding this quote yesterday, it’s making me want to sign up for another!

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 7.29.51 AM

Favorite Travel Destination: By this time last summer, Frank and I had been to Block Island at least twice and managed to fit in a third before September. We haven’t been once this summer! I’m craving a trip to the island – relaxation, beach, sunshine, cold beverages and maybe even a moped ride! Hopefully we can squeeze in a day trip before school starts!

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 7.31.49 AM

That’s it for this week’s Friday Favorites! Hope you have a GREAT weekend and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

