Post-Run Breakfast Power Bowl

Good morning and happy Monday!

Yesterday morning we woke up without an alarm (between 7:30-8am), had our morning cup of coffee, watched the morning news, and went for a 3-mile run around 9am. It was glorious! During our run, the sun was hot and there wasn’t much of a breeze so it is definitely still summertime and we hope to roll with it for the next few weeks!

After our run, I chugged plenty of water and showered up. I’ve been feeling quite dehydrated lately and though we’re not training for any races right now, it’s nice to keep the endurance going and log some runs throughout the week. I’ve been incorporating more strength training this past week as well and my plan is to continue with this routine + add more water to the mix!

Frank and I were starving after our shower so it was definitely time for a good, protein-packed breakfast.

With leftovers from Friday and Saturday night, we whipped up a satisfying power bowl which was so simple and extra tasty. As you can see, I’m going through a serious power bowl phase, and I recommend you try it out if you’re looking to mix up your morning routine! This is also a great way to use up the leftovers in your fridge – I love when we find simple ways to make the most of what we have!

Breakfast Power Bowl

Leftovers: Grilled zucchini from Friday night, grilled eggplant from Saturday night, and a little bit of cooked quinoa. We chopped up the veggies and heated them through in a sauté pan with a little bit of salt and pepper. As for the quinoa, I added two big scoops to the bottom of Frank’s bowl and one big scoop to mine.

Ingredients

4 eggs, cooked over easy

1/2 avocado, sliced into chunks

1 tomato, sliced into wedges

Salt and pepper to taste

Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

Directions

1. After heating up the leftover veggies, place them evenly over the quinoa.

2. Cook the eggs (we love over easy) and top each veggie and quinoa bowl with two eggs.

3. Add the sliced avocado and tomato wedges to each bowl, season with S&P, and hot sauce.

4. Enjoy!

These power bowls are great with over easy eggs because when you cut into them, the yolk pours over the veggies and quinoa as a yummy sauce. It filled us up and we were satisfied straight through to a late lunch/dinner.

photo 1

On the side we shared one apple, sliced, with a whole-lotta-cinnamon, and some Teddy’s Natural Peanut Butter.

photo 2

Today

This morning I came to Worcester to see where Frank has been going to school for the last few months! So far, the parts of campus I’ve seen are beautiful and very new and different from the URI campus I’m used to. It’s exciting to see something new and I’ll be meeting up with him later this afternoon to do a quick tour and check out the book store.

I just settled into a cute little cafe called “NU cafe” and am enjoying a latte while finishing up this post! Time to study!

photo 4

And one more thing…

With the new Lay’s “Do us a Flavor” chip competition, I’m all about looking but not so much about the tasting. Last year’s Sriracha chip had me hooked! But this year’s flavors aren’t as appetizing to me…until we discovered the Kettle Cooked Wasabi Ginger Kettle Chip! Frank picked up a bag yesterday and though I’m not a wasabi fan, they were only a tad spicy and just the right amount of tang. Yum! The other flavors are Cappuccino, Bacon Mac ‘n Cheese and Mango Salsa. I would definitely try the Mango Salsa if they were placed in front of me, but the other two, no thanks!

photo 3

Alright, have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

