Restaurant Review: boloco {Warwick, RI} + GIVEAWAY!

A few weeks ago, I was invited to attend an exclusive event hosted by boloco, a fairly new burrito restaurant located in Warwick, RI with locations throughout Massachusetts and the New England area. Unfortunately, I couldn’t attend the event, so instead, the boloco representative who had contacted me offered a $20 gift card so I could go on my own! I was so excited to try out a new restaurant in the area, and a unique one at that! And of course, I brought Frank with me 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 12.09.29 PM

The Food

boloco, yes it’s spelt with a lower case b, specializes in burritos and bowls, but not just any burritos and bowls. They are globally inspired, meaning each of the burritos on their menu represents a different type of cuisine. Of course you can order their Classic Mexican burrito filled with tomato salsa, cilantro, cheese, beans and rice, but you can also opt for the Bangkok Thai burrito which comes with peanut sauce, asian slaw, cucumbers and brown rice. They also have a Teriyaki, Buffalo, Tika Masala, Cajun and Summer burrito OR you can make your own and “goloco”…get it?!?!

Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.35.55 PM

The menu is laid out easily and caters to every style of eater there is. Start with your choice of flavor (as I just listed above) and then chose what kind of protein you’d like (chicken–dark or white meat, steak, tofu, and fajita vegetables) as well as the size. What makes boloco stand out from other burrito chain restaurants is, of course, their variety in flavor but also, their variety in size. You can opt for a regular, small or mini burrito or you can choose a burrito bowl, either big, regular or small.

Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.36.07 PMScreen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.36.26 PM

Their menu also features a list of delicious-sounding breakfasts and salads made with the freshest ingredients as well as both shakes and smoothies. Talk about a fresh variety! Though we didn’t try a shake or smoothie this time around, I know we will be going back, and will have to add that to our list of must-tries.

Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.35.49 PM Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.36.02 PM Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.36.34 PM

boloco, though not fully organic, prides itself in providing its customers with the freshest ingredients possible. They offer organic tofu, natural/humanely-raised chicken (no antibiotics or hormones added), grass-fed naturally-raised beef, and free-range cage-free eggs.

Screen Shot 2014-11-15 at 2.37.27 PM

The Atmosphere

As Frank and I stepped into the boloco on Bald Hill Road in Warwick, we were immediately greeted by a friendly staff and a unique atmosphere. I’m one of those people who usually likes to keep to herself when it comes to restaurants and retail stores (If someone asks if I need help when I walk into a clothing store, I immediately feel overwhelmed and awkward…I can’t help it!). But, the boloco staff’s friendliness was a treat and I welcomed their expertise with open arms.

photo 1

Though the restaurant is small, it had a very modern looking interior with warm fall colors, wooden highlights, and an open seating area. They definitely made the most of their space!

After approaching the front counter, the staff asked if we had ever been there before and when we told them we hadn’t, they happily showed us how the restaurant works. It was very easy to understand and they were genuinely excited to tell us about our dining options.

photo 2

After a quick tutorial and glance over their international menu, Frank had his mind set on the Classic Mexican burrito with white chicken while I decided to give the Teriyaki burrito with white chicken a try. We both had the regular sized burrito with a whole wheat tortilla and made one order a meal which gave us tortilla chips and a fountain drink to share. We also ordered a small mediterranean salad on the side, which by the way, had lots of kalamata olives!

Upon placing our final order, the kind boloco employee surprised us with a 50% off bill since it was our first time at the restaurant! Our actual total (without the 50% off) came to just over $26.00 which was pretty good considering we ordered quite a lot of food (One full meal, a full burrito and a side salad). We definitely didn’t leave hungry!

The Taste

So, you’re probably wondering how it tasted! My burrito was delicious; very flavorful but not too heavy on the sauce, just how I like it. The shredded carrots and broccoli provided a great crunch while the brown rice was warm and paired nicely with the chicken. I would definitely order it again! Frank’s burrito was so good! I had a bite (obviously) and the cilantro and tomato salsa with added guacamole (a little extra $$) was the perfect combination. Frank thoroughly enjoyed his meal as well and we were both quite happy with our burrito choices. The mediterranean salad was very flavorful. It had a really nice black bean hummus on top; I wish we could have taken a bucket home with us! It was a nice way to end our meal on a fresh note leaving us full and satisfied!

photo 3

Classic Mexican burrito

photo 4

Teriyaki burrito

photo 1

Mediterranean salad

photo 2

Happy Francis!

All-in-all, we truly did have a global burrito experience that was bold in flavor, fresh in ingredients, and friendly in atmosphere. I would definitely suggest this place to anyone who is near a boloco; you won’t regret it!

Giveaway!

And now, because the boloco rep I worked with was so nice and generous, I have a $20 gift card giveaway for one of my local readers! If you are in the Rhode Island or Massachusetts area (sorry Canadian readers/friends/family!), you could win this $20 gift card to boloco. Just leave a comment on this blog post and tell me what you would order if you were going to a boloco near you. I’ll randomly pick a winner this Friday!

9 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: boloco {Warwick, RI} + GIVEAWAY!

  1. I went to school in Boston for four years and lived right down the street from a boloco and never went! Now that I’m back in RI, I really want to check out the boloco in Warwick. The menu sounds awesome. I’d probably go with the tikka masala, the bangkok thai, or I’d create my own. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. my favorite is the chicken teriyaki or I goloco with chicken, mango salsa AND medium salsa, brown rice, guac :), and veggies. It’s heaven in a tortilla. I love boloco!

  3. would love to give it a try!! sounds like a better chipotle (and im a fan of theirs!!) – hoping to try it out at one in my state (Mass!!) 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

