The Holidays & Catching up

Good morning and Happy December 16th! I can’t believe there are only 9 days until Christmas! Hope you’re all doing well, enjoying the holiday season and getting ready for the upcoming Christmas and New Year festivities. I know I am!

I also wanted to swing by and say hello and sorry for the long delay of posts! With my graduate school studies wrapping up and final projects due, I haven’t really been able to cook, document, and write up a blog post. My focus on school is paying off though, and I cannot wait to take a break from the academic books and enjoy a nice holiday in Canada. On my to do list: Reading a non-academic book, watching Christmas movies, and cooking up some delicious treats!

So, I thought I would give you a bit of an update on life the last few weeks, as I’ve been focused on eating (somewhat) healthy and getting that workout in whenever I can. Prep for the holiday season is upon us so staying on a bit of a schedule has been helping! If you’re looking for some tips to stay on track during this busy and celebratory time of year, here are a few of my favorite blog posts about it:

Thoughts on Holiday Eating via Carrots ‘N’ Cake

Healthy Holiday How-To Guide via Sarah Fit

Okay, here’s what I’ve been up to…

Workouts: My workout routine has been fairly consistent! I’m all about the kettle bell right now, and love how a circuit filled with kettle bell swings, goblet squats and renegade rows gets me sweating from start to finish. I have also been running outside when I can and though it’s been pretty chilly, I make sure to bundle up as much as possible! I can honestly say that there’s no feeling like finishing up a strong run, no matter how short or long it may be.

photo 3 copy

Food: As for food, we’ve been enjoying very simple meals which include a protein, a frozen bag of vegetables and side salads. Simple and nutritious has been the routine during the week, especially given our weekends of indulgence and cookies…yes, all the cookies!

photo 4 photo 2 IMG_8461

  • Breakfasts have included coffee with a peppermint chocolate soy milk (so delicious!), eggs and ezekiel toast or instant oatmeal dressed up to our liking
  • Lunches are mostly salads with fresh veggies and chicken or a protein-packed smoothie
  • Snacks include apples, bananas, carrots, almonds, and greek yogurt (I’m going through a serious Lime greek yogurt phase right now…I just love the tang!)
  • Dinners either salmon or chicken dressed with whatever we have on hand (think teriyaki, pesto, olive oil, lemon, dried herbs etc.), frozen bags of veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, or a mix), and side salads with lots of tomatoes and red onions (we stick to red onions at night rather than in our lunch salads but I just love the flavor kick they bring!)

Indulgences: With the holiday season upon us, that means I’ve been enjoying my fair share of treats! Here are a few of my favorite things right now:

  • Red wine
  • Cheese & crackers
  • Holiday cookies
  • Dark chocolate

I think these are some of my favorite treats year round…but I feel like they’re especially delicious this time of year 🙂

I’ll be popping in every now and then throughout the holidays, but my real focus will be on soaking up as much family and friends time as possible when I’m home.

IMG_3544

Last year at the Christmas Providence Water Fire!

Sending you and your families so much love during the holidays!

Leave a Reply

