Peanut Butter & Banana Overnight Oats

Breakfast. I know I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I look forward to it every, single, morning. Sometimes before bed, I think about and look forward to the delicious meal that’s going to be consumed the moment I wake up. Not only will it be yummy in taste, but it’ll kick start my day and give me the energy I need to power through my morning. Maybe you think I’ve gone too far? But my love affair with breakfast is only a recent affair of mine, so I need to make up for lost time! It’s also thanks to my lovely fiancé who has always been a major fan of the most important meal of the day.

As you can see, it’s become a favorite meal of mine, which used to be something I skipped every single day, especially in high school. If I could go back in time and talk to my high school self, I would tell her that she is missing out big time and needs to jump on the train before it’s too late. I’m thankful I did!

Today I have a cold breakfast recipe for you. There are a ton of overnight oats recipes on the internet, and I’ve tried my fair share of recipes until I found a combination that totally hit the spot – great consistency, just sweet enough, and packed full of nutrients. I’ve tried them with yogurt but find that the banana brings enough sweetness and texture without all of that tang.

IMG_1503

This is a great way to kick start your day and keep you full through your morning. I plan on trying more variations, but I’ve included a few topping options so you can mix it up, too!

Overnight Oats

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients

1 ripe banana

1 cup of whole wheat oats (We use Quaker brand – do not use Steel Cut oats)

¼ cup of peanut butter (We use Teddy Peanut Butter – smooth style)

1 cup of milk (We use almond milk – any kind will do!)

1 tbsp. chia seeds*

1 tsp. honey

1 tsp. cinnamon

Topping Options (Mix and match your favorites!)

Sliced strawberries, blueberries, raspberries etc.

Cinnamon

Unsweetened coconut

Sliced almonds/walnuts

Jam (Add a dollop of your favorite jam for PB&J Overnight Oats)

Dark chocolate chips

Directions

1. In a large bowl, mash the banana with a fork.

2. Add the peanut butter first, and mix it with the banana until it’s well combined and fairly smooth (If you skip this step, it’ll be much harder to mix in the oats).

3. Add the oats and stir carefully until well combined.

4. Add the milk, chia seeds, honey and cinnamon. Stir until well combined. Below is the “before” picture.

IMG_1440

5. Cover the bowl and place in the fridge for at least two hours or as long as overnight. Below is the “after” photo. See how thick the oats have become?!

IMG_1443

6. In the morning, add a dash more of milk to get things moving and then sprinkle with your favorite toppings! We like strawberries, cinnamon and coconut, but your options are endless! As you can see below, these are a few variations we have tried. Note: The empty peanut butter jar trick! Overnight oats are a great way to use up those last peanut butter scrapings you can’t usually get at the end of the jar. You end up throwing it away, wasting a teaspoon or two; well, using the jar to make your overnight oats will fix that problem in an instant!

IMG_1445IMG_1503IMG_1449IMG_1453

A few things to note:

  • This is a cold breakfast so it may take a little bit of getting used to! Once you do, I promise you this will be a staple in your breakfast repertoire. It’s healthy, full of flavor and nutrients, and extremely filling. Even though it’s not hot, it’ll still stick to your ribs!
  • *This recipe requires chia seeds because they really soak up the almond milk and thicken your oats. Do not omit them.

Alright friends, hope you try this gem of a recipe out, and let me know how it goes! If you have any other variations of overnight oats, please feel free to send them my way, I would love to try it!

Leave a Reply

