Daily Eats #6

Happy Friday! Wow, can’t believe it’s already Friday. It’s a beautiful morning and if you have a chance to get outside, please make sure you do!

As Frank and I prepare to run a 10-mile race tonight, I wanted to show you a photo from last year’s finish line. SEE?! We’re holding hands!!!

IMG_2838

We’ll also be welcoming one of my best friend’s and her boyfriend from Toronto for the weekend. They started their road trip last night and plan to arrive in the Ocean State sometime this afternoon! Can’t wait to spend some quality time at the beach, soaking up some sun and catching up with one of my bff’s – and of course, indulging in LOTS of clam chowder, because that’s what we do when Jess comes to town 🙂

Today’s post is all about my pre-race day eats. I should be hydrating way more than I have been so today is all about water, powerade and fueling my body with lots of energy foods!

Here’s yesterday’s eats (you’ve already actually seen my breakfast)!

Breakfast

Oatmeal with blueberries and almond milk, grapefruit and a hot cup of coffee.

photo 1

Lunch

Frank’s mom, Colleen, and I went out to lunch yesterday afternoon! We enjoyed delicious salads topped with grilled chicken and lots of veggies.

My salad was topped with: teriyaki grilled chicken, tomatoes, red onion, dried cranberry, mandarin oranges, feta cheese and a balsamic vinaigrette!

photo 2

Snack

In the afternoon I had a hot mug of green tea and some almonds.

photo 4

Dinner

Instead of pasta, I incorporated garlic quinoa to our dinner last night.

I made a ground turkey tomato sauce with garlic, sautéed onions, bell peppers, spinach and fresh basil. After adding salt and pepper and some Italian seasoning, I let it come to a boil before simmering for 20 minutes over low heat. The flavors came together deliciously and it was a nice italian meal which seems to be our go-to the night before a race!

I topped a bed of garlic quinoa (store-bought and cooked following the box directions) with the ground turkey sauce with some basil ribbons and fresh parmesan. On the side, we enjoyed some roasted broccoli – you can never have too many greens!

photo 5

Hope you have a great weekend and I look forward to giving you a race update next week! Wish us luck!!

7 thoughts on “Daily Eats #6

Leave a comment